Gallery: Biffy Clyro Brings Timeless Show to the History in Toronto

Gallery: Biffy Clyro Brings Timeless Show to the History in Toronto

Photos: Csilla Kajtar

Wildly talented Biffy Clyro front man, Simon Neil, stood out to a wider US audience in 2014 when he sang “Crazy Train” with Slash ft. Myles Kennedy, during an MTV tribute to Ozzy. By then, the Scottish band had been active for well over a decade and their versatility, exquisite songwriting, and glorious anthems have helped them stand the test of time. On April 22 they brought their timeless songs and electrifying show to the History in Toronto.

Opening up for Biffy Clyro was Dead Poet Society, an alt-rock band formed by Berklee graduates Jack Underkofler (vocals, guitar), Jack Collins (guitar), Dylan Brenner (bass), and Will Goodroad (drums) opened the show. They are on tour supporting their debut album -!- (said as “The Exclamation Album”).

Biffy Clyro would be punks, but they have elaborate stories to tell. They use full phrases lyrically, as well as musically. The songs have direction, lend hope, and they are taking you along for the ride.

The tour is supporting two very successful albums: 2020’s A Celebration of Endings and 2021’s The Myth of the Happily Ever After. Both albums produced hits – “Hunger in Your Haunt,” “Space,” “Errors in the History of God”– that measure up to any prior crowd favorites. Their compelling lyrics elicit full-venue sing-alongs, while their gritty riffs and syncopated melodies start mosh pits. During “Space,” a Scottish flag was raised above the audience to unbridled cheers from all.

Simon Neil (vocals, guitar), James Johnston (bass), and Ben Johnston (drums) have been and remain a well oiled and tireless machine. The heartfelt sing-alongs their music draws out, especially their best known anthem “Many of Horror,” ring in your ear long after the show.

The tour in the US continues through May 9. Check out photos and setlists below from Biffy Clyro and Dead Poet Society in Toronto, ON below:


Biffy Clyro:


DumDum, A Hunger in Your Haunt, Tiny Indoor Fireworks, Black Chandelier, North of No South, That Golden Rule, Instant History, Mountains, Machines (Simon Neil solo acoustic), Unknown Male 01, End Of, Wolves of Winter, Space, Slurpy Slurpy Sleep Sleep, Re-Arrange, Living Is a Problem Because Everything Dies, Bubbles; Encore: Cop Syrup, Many of Horror

Dead Poet Society:




Lo Air, .burymewhole., .georgia., Bacalar, .SALT., Touch, .AmericanBlood., Sound and Silence, .intoodeep., .CoDA.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: