Trey Anastasio Releases New Album ‘Lonely Trip’

Trey Anastasio Releases New Album ‘Lonely Trip’

Since the impact of COVID-19, Trey Anastasio was forced to stay within the walls of his apartment and used his time while in there to not only write new songs, but also made entertaining iPhone music videos of all of his brand new songs that were released on social media first.

Today, the Phish front man released his brand new album titled Lonely Trip. The album has a low-fi take and picked Bryce Goggin to remix the tracks. The LP was released in full last night via Rubber Jungle Records and premiered on SiriusXM’s Phish Radio. Anastasio did release a new single before the announcement for the song “…And Flew Away” and also recruited long time friend Tom Marshall and Scott Herman. See the track list and Trey Anastasio’s full statement on Lonely Trip below:


1. Shaking Someone’s Outstretched Hand
2. A Wave Of Hope
3. I Never Left Home
4. Lost In The Pack
5. If I Could See The World
6. The Greater Good
7. When The Words Go Away
8. Lotus
9. I Never Needed You Like This Before
10. The Silver Light
11. Are You There Colleen
12. …And Flew Away
13. Till We Meet Again
14. Evolve
15. Lonely Trip


Trey Anastasio’s Statement on Lonely Trip via. Facebook:

Lonely Trip was conceived and recorded in isolation at my home studio (aka Rubber Jungle) during the peak of New York City’s COVID-19 crisis, March – July, 2020. When the lockdown began, I had by chance just completed a weekend songwriting session with my friends and longtime collaborators Tom Marshall and Scott Herman. That session took place March 13th and 14th just as the crisis was beginning in New York, so the themes of fear and isolation were already finding their way into those first songs. By the time I arrived home, the situation in NYC had gotten much worse.

Knowing I wasn’t going to be leaving my apartment for a while, I started working. It felt therapeutic to write. I wanted to connect with our community in some way. The unplanned nature of the recording meant I didn’t have a lot of gear during this process. I had an electric and an acoustic guitar, a small amp, two microphones, some percussion, and two keyboards, including an old Kurzweil with very realistic drum sounds on it. Everything was recorded through a Spire 8-track. Lonely Trip is truly a raw, low-fi recording.

The process of writing songs became a reflective and healing experience. Being able to share these songs instantly with our community via Instagram felt equally profound. It harkened back to my youth, before there was a Phish, when I would write songs and home-record them specifically with the intention of sharing them with my circle of friends via cassette four-track recordings.

As the weeks went by, I worked on improving my recording techniques. I called recording engineers including Ben Collette and Vance Powell to get tips on microphone placement, and I purchased a bass guitar online. I also started tapping into a Dropbox folder with about 30 four-minute drum sequences that I had recorded with Jon Fishman over the last year.

For the previous few Phish albums (including Kasvot Vaxt and Sigma Oasis), I had been experimenting with writing songs, starting with drum beats that I had sung into my phone. Fish and I would go into the studio and record the beats exactly as I had sung them, with Fish launching off in his unique way after a minute or two. I used these beats as building blocks to many of the songs on Lonely Trip, and it explains how I could do a whole album in Rubber Jungle with such good sounding drums. Thank you Fish!

The album was ultimately mixed by my friend Bryce Goggin, and as always, Bryce’s mixes sound incredible. Thank you Bryce!

Lonely Trip was my message in a bottle during this time, and I wish I knew how to properly thank all of you in our community for listening and responding. It meant so much to me. Thank you. Wishing all of you much love and safety during this turbulent time.

This album is dedicated to the heroism of our healthcare and essential workers.

— Trey

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: